RSS

Minimalist Mondays

18 Apr

Licensed to p.a.n.eThis blog is all about my adventures, and my aspirations and the things I do and the things that I want to do. I’ve started my “travel thursdays” series, and now I also want to start my “minimalist mondays” series.

Why, you ask?

Well, minimalism is something that I consider to be a really important thing.

Why, you ask again?

Lots of reasons.

1. Minimalism gives me freedom. I just wrote about my 50 States Project. While I’m certainly not planning to travel all over the world, 50 states in 5 years is a decent amount of traveling. And since I’m planning to spend a lot of time in each state, that’s quite a bit of travel time. I also want to travel the world. Minimalism helps me remember to really limit what I own, so it’s easier to decide to travel for 3 months. I don’t have to worry about all of the stuff that I’m leaving behind.

2. Minimalism gives me freedom. This is a different freedom. The first freedom was a physical freedom, to travel the world. This is a freedom of time. If I’m not forced to spend time working constantly to make money to buy stuff, I have time to pursue what’s important to me.

3. It’s good for the environment. I’m very concerned about the impact that consumerism has on the environment. So, as a minimalist I’m using less packaging which means less waste. I’ve become a vegetarian, which reduces my impact on the environment. I’ve stopped driving and started walking/biking as much as possible. That way, I can not only enjoy the journey, I can also reduce my impact. These benefits to the environment are things that I’m really passionate about, and I love that it’s a side effect of minimalism.

So, every Monday I’m going to blog about minimalism, whether it’s how I incorporate it, or how it’s helping me or anything like that.

Cheers,

BDOC

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 18 April 2011 in minimalism

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment